Taal en Tongval

Aims & Scope

Taal & Tongval: Language Variation in the Low Countries is a peer-reviewed, academic journal devoted to the scientific study of language variation in the Netherlands and Flanders, in neighbouring areas and in languages related to Dutch. All types of variation are covered, including but not restricted to geographical, social, ethnic, stylistic and diachronic variation. Articles may deal with all aspects of human language. The journal welcomes both empirical work as studies linking language variation to developments in theoretical linguistics. Articles are subjected to a double blind peer review process.

Taal & Tongval welcomes contributions in Dutch, English, and German. In certain cases we also consider articles in other languages, including Frisian, Afrikaans, and French.

The journal was first published in 1949 and is published in open access since 2011.

Peer Review Process

The journal uses a double blind peer review process. The submission of an article is understood to mean that the article represents a piece of original work and has a high research standard.

Before submitting an article for review, please download and read the Instructions for Authors.

Editorial office

Gunther De Vogelaer
Email: [email protected]


Prof. dr. Dirk Geeraerts, KU Leuven ([email protected])
Prof. dr. Antal van den Bosch, Meertens Instituut ([email protected])
Prof. dr. Roeland van Hout, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen ([email protected])
Prof. dr. Anne Breitbarth, Universiteit Gent ([email protected])
Dr. Jan Nijen Twilhaar, Hogeschool Utrecht ([email protected])
Prof. dr. Wim Vandenbussche, Vrije Universiteit Brussel ([email protected])
Prof. dr. Gunther De Vogelaer, Universität Münster ([email protected])

Editorial board

Prof. dr. Peter Auer, Universität Freiburg, Duitsland
Prof. dr. Sjef Barbiers, Meertens Instituut
Prof. dr. Hans Bennis, Meertens Instituut
Prof. dr. Timothy Colleman, Universiteit Gent
Prof. dr. Norbert Corver, Universiteit Utrecht
Prof. dr. Magda Devos, Universiteit Gent
Prof. dr. Luk Draye, KU Leuven
Prof. dr. Mirjam Ernestus, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen
Dr. Ben Hermans, Meertens Instituut
Dr. Nana Haug Hilton, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Prof. dr. Joachim Herrgen, Deutscher Sprachatlas, Duitsland
Prof. dr. Frans Hinskens, Meertens Instituut
Prof. dr. Jürgen Jaspers, Université Libre de Bruxelles
Prof. dr. Willy Van Langendonck, KU Leuven
Prof. dr. Alexandra Lenz, Universität Wien, Oostenrijk
Prof. dr. Jozef Van Loon, Universiteit van Antwerpen
Prof. dr. Pieter van Reenen, Meertens Instituut
Prof. dr. Dieter Stellmacher, Universität Göttingen, Duitsland
Prof. dr. Jos Swanenberg, Tilburg University
Prof. dr. Johan Taeldeman, Universiteit Gent
Prof. dr. Reinhild Vanderkerckhove, Universiteit Antwerpen
Dr. Hans Vandevelde, Fryske Akademy
Prof. dr. Jacques Van Keymeulen, Universiteit Gent
Prof. dr. Arjen Versloot, Universiteit van Amsterdam
Prof. dr. Marijke van der Wal, Universiteit Leiden
Prof. dr. Fred Weerman, Universiteit van Amsterdam

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error